Mocha-Banana Breakfast Smoothie

Breakfast is one of my favourite meals of the day, and will often see me in the kitchen making some annoyingly elaborate concoction, while my husband rolls his eyes and accuses me of overcrowding the dishwasher to make yet another ‘complicated breakfast’.

Over the last few weeks though, I haven’t had much of an appetite in the morning – but unfortunately my tendency towards low blood sugar means I usually need to eat something ‘proper’ to keep it in check (honestly, my blood sugar is sometimes like the beast lying dormant within, ready to explode in hanger at a moment’s notice…). On one such morning I also wanted coffee, albeit decaf. And so, the mocha-banana breakfast smoothie was born, with a little hidden veg. It’s a coffee-and-healthy-breakfast all in one, summer-friendly start to the day.

As we head off for a family holiday on Tuesday, this will be my last post for the year. I hope for all of you to have a lovely holiday season, but I’m also thinking of those who find this time of year difficult – because it can also be a fraught time, can’t it?
Take care,
Erin xx

Mocha-Banana Breakfast Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: Super Easy!
  • Print

This recipe is for a single serve – I often make double and save the second serving in a jar in the fridge for the following morning. Just give it a good shake.

  • 1 shot espresso coffee (I use decaf)
  • Large handful of ice
  • 2 tsp cacao
  • 1/2 zucchini
  • 2 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp unflavoured protein powder
  • 1/2 chopped banana – frozen is best, but fresh is also fine!
  • 1/2 cup milk of choice
  • 1 tsp honey, maple syrup or rice malt syrup

1. Combine all the ingredients in a high-powered blender and blend until smooth.

Make it vegan / dairy free: Use almond or coconut milk as your milk of choice.
Make it gluten-free: Use quinoa flakes instead of oats.
Make it greener: Add a handful of baby spinach or kale.

Mocha Banana Breakfast Smoothie

Mocha Banana Breakfast Smoothie

6 Comments

  1. Sarah Hopkins says:

    Have an incredible time Erin and thanks for each and every post this year … l can honesty say l’ve enjoyed every one … what a years it’s been xxx

    • Erin says:

      Thank-you so much Sarah, you know how much I appreciate your support and perspective. It’s been such a weird year – it’s flown by, but when I look back at the posts to see what was going on it seems like forever!

  2. Denise Woodley says:

    Yum, have to try this with the zuchinni hit. Thanks for sharing and happy festive season to you!

    • Erin says:

      Thanks Denise – I hope you enjoy it Denise, and same to you! I hope you get to enjoy some down time over the holidays xx

  3. Thanks for all the yummy recipes and thought provoking posts this year. Wishing you and your beautiful boys (the big one and the littles ones) a wonderful Christmas and wonderful new year. Rani x

    • Erin says:

      Thank YOU Rani, I’ve so enjoyed all your recipes and posts this year! I hope you three have a lovely Christmas and New Year – and I’m looking forward to seeing you soon!! 🙂 xx

Leave a comment