Daily Archives: 03/07/2016

#8 A Simplicious Challenge: A Simplicious Holiday (and hot chips)

The Simplicious Challenge: I’m cooking all 306 recipes from Sarah Wilson’s book Simplicious, to see the impact it has on the way I buy, cook, consume and waste food. Read the first post here, if you missed it.

It’s been nearly two months since my last Simplicious Challenge post. I certainly haven’t stopped – I’m in too deep now. 😉 But May and June were very busy months for me, as I finished up a uni subject (with the group work assignment from HELL) and then we went on a family holiday to Queensland. Towards the end of May I was under a lot of pressure, so I thought I’d combine these two months into a single post.

Having a break from uni and work has really helped me to re-focus, and also to see the impact that stress and busy-ness has on my ability to be ‘simplicious’ (or even just mindful). For me, doing too much generally means doing things half-arsed. Which means I find it difficult to get my Simplicious ‘flow’ on. Resulting in waste. I need to get my Simplicious mojo back on. Starting with some leftovers pesto!

I tried to be a bit Simplicious while we were on holiday, aware that it could easily digress into a fortnight of excessive, bad food. Kids’ menus in restaurants are the pits! I will be happy to never see another hot chip again. (For at least a couple of months.) I think hot chips have a lot to answer for – the way so many dining establishments rely on them as a ‘filler’, especially for kids, but also adults – I think speaks to a lack of creativity. It’s no wonder kids don’t want to eat vegetables these days! Continue reading